DA Grichy Camode!

Some posts ago I mentioned Dan Brown and called his novels trash. The comment invited questions and comments “Dan Brown trash? What makes you say that? Could you elaborate?”

I can and I am writing this down just to do that. I admit I didn’t read Da Vinci’s Code till last year when Mals picked it up and recommended that I might get a read as well. The novel was already a Big and acclaimed hit by then so it wasn’t a difficult decision to make. But.

I was disappointed.

I was disappointed the novel read hardly like a book but more like the script for a Hollywood movie!

I was disappointed the characters were so clichéd

I was disappointed the climax was so tame

I was disappointed by the lack of respect Mr. Brown has for the reader’s intelligence.

The great bubble was burst; the hype surrounding the novel seemed so fake. Manufactured.

The story follows something like this, this leader of a secret society, guarding the biggest secret in the Christian world. Invites this total unknown dude from America to give him all his secrets. Gets murdered. His sexy and brilliant grand daughter comes into the scene.
Helps Mr. unknown with all the secrets of her grandpa.

The very last piece of evidence that the duo gathered proved to me that either Dan Brown is stupid or he thinks his readers are!
The fact that Da Vinci practiced mirror writing is a well known fact, yet the very wise very educated protagonist spend the equivalent of an eternity trying to crack a code which is not there at all….oh so very stupid.

I wanted a refund!

YET

I decided to give Dan Brown another chance so I picked up another of his novels “Digital Fortress”
I got what I expected

I expected the characters to be clichéd
They were. How about the 170IQ hot blonde! , the Playboy Professor, the disfigured computer genius, the ruthless tycoon and the deaf and mute cold blooded assassin

I expected the climax to be tame
It was

I expected Mr. Brown to think his reader was a fool
He thought so! Mr. Brown thought that his reader is Dumb; the supposedly intelligent protagonists spend half an hour finding something taught to all of us in 11th grade chemistry.
What crap!

And to add to it all it seemed to me that Brown had been watching the hit Bruce wills movie “Mercury Rising” about the NSA and mythical codes and he probably sat down and wrote down this novel the very next day!

All in all I am not a fan of his writing though others may differ from my opinion, you are most welcome to hold your views. If I were to prescribe an airport thriller to you for a quick read it would be The Broker by John Grisham. No brainy stuff here even Grisham admits he is not sure if any stuff is accurate buts it makes a good “time pass” as we say in India!
Take care……Pradster out !

Tags: Da Vinci Code, Books, Dan Brown , thriller

10 thoughts on “DA Grichy Camode!

  1. Łóòň Ġãĺ says:

    Awwwwwwww!!!

    I did like The Da Vinci Code even though t’was a bit cliche’d!
    Havent read ne other Dan Brown books … have hrd Angels and Demons is a good one too … lol but am sure u’ll have another list against tht one as well!

  2. Keshi says:

    Many of my friends recommended The Da Vinci Code to me..I still havent got a hold of it…but ur dsappointed with it, now what do I do 🙂

    Keshi.

  3. pradster13 says:

    hey cheesy!

    i havent read angels and demons , i dont wanna blow anymore bucks…but if someone were to lend me i might as well read it…lol

  4. pradster13 says:

    wassup keshi?

    here is what i think….tell ur freinds to lend it to ya…read it and form your own opinion… 🙂
    that way you wont blame me if ya happen to read it and like it as well!!..
    luv
    pradster

  5. Łóòň Ġãĺ says:

    I’ll get da book issued for myself from the library … and scan it for u! 😛 😛

    Sorry to inform you … but u been tagged by me … visit my blog for more details! Play da tag if u feel like.

  6. Keshi says:

    **I was disappointed by the lack of respect Mr. Brown has for the reader’s intelligence.

    From that line itself, I somehow feel that u judged the book well. Cos u r quit ean intelligent dude (having liked Nirvana ;-), and I will go by what u just said…cant waste any cranium on such books.

    Keshi.

  7. cassie-b says:

    I enjoyed the books, but you’re right.

    And I also enjoy the John Grisham books.

    Actually, I generally enjoy books – unless they are terrible.

  8. pradster13 says:

    “liked nirvana’….hey keshi i absolutely WORSHIP nirvana!….kurts my hero!
    lol

  9. Keshi says:

    yep Kurt is God to me..

    Keshi.

  10. a a says:

    jug suraiya had written this article in toi
    faith is stranger than fiction on dan brown,i still have the copy and as the self explanatory title goes, Dan Brown did nothing great

Leave a Reply

